"Stand still and consider the wondrous works of God." Job 37:14


Riley named Towns County Mountain Conservation Council Site Advisor

In the spring of 2007, Towns County Commissioner Bill Kendall started working on a 3-acre plan for developers to consider -3-acre lots or 1-acre with 2-acre of green space. He appointed a group of citizens who are also concerned about the increased traffic and increased demands on this county’s infrastructure resulting from ¾ acre lots now allowed in subdivisions. The hope is that developers will agree to build conservation and environmentally friendly subdivisions.

This council is named the Towns County Mountain Conservation Council and is composed of seven members: Jack Miller, Joan Crothers, Charlie Kraus, Lynne Marshall, Tracey Wikstrom, Henry Childs, Elaine Delcuz, Ad Hoc members: Zoe Shumaker, Grover Garrett and Callie Moore. Site Advisor is Frank Riley, who will be personally working with developers in the implementation of certifying their development as a “Mountain Conservation Community” when they have complied with the standards set by the council.

There are a number of rewards for these complying developers, one being able to fast track the subdivision by not going through the Planning Commission, another will be a sign giving this developer the designation of Mountain Conservation Community for all to see. Publicity articles on these environmentally friendly developers will also be given to the local media. If you are a developer who is interested in participating with this council, please call 706-897-1676.

View the full article here (PDF document)
Get Adobe Reader

Back to articles


Service Areas



North Carolina

South Carolina



view all of our service
areas contact info

    © 2003-2023 Southern Heritage Land Company, Inc. All rights reserved.
     Web Hosting by Maximtech
Site Map | Disclaimer